Memorials and the laughter of children

We, the boys and I, went to a park downtown late this afternoon where there is a high spraying play fountain.  We’ve been there before, but for the first time I wore my swimsuit under my clothes just in case I felt like getting wet.  They knew this, and nagged me until I consented to get up and come get in.

They tired after a while and crossed the street to play on the new playground.  I followed, then walked over to the war memorial that’s nearby as it is relatively new, also.  There was some controversy over the city building the new playground so close to the war memorial.  I think some people thought there would be disrespectful treatment of the memorial.  I saw no evidence of this; in fact, I saw one mother harshly correct her child for misbehaving while they were looking at the Medal of Honor recipients.

As I walked through the columns, reading the names and thinking about how many people have given their lives for this country, I could hear echoing from the fountain the laughter and screams of children.  And I reflected that indeed, the proximity of the fountain and playground is perfect.  I’d like to think most of the people memorialized on those markers would agree that the freedom of those laughing children was the main thing they were fighting for.

One thought on “Memorials and the laughter of children”

Leave a comment